Store cupboard Soup

I go through phases of liking soup, and getting really into it, and then disliking it cos I’ve had it too much. It’s been about a year since my last phase, but it’s kicking in again. I’m quite particular about my soup, in that I don’t really like it tinned cos they put loads of crap in it which isn’t real, and then I go for fresh from a shop, but it’s still got weird stuff in it. So where does that leave me? With organic, but then it costs so much to buy organic soup. Therefore, I like to make my own out of things in my house and it will last me 4 sittings. 4!!!

The basic thing you need here is vegetable stock. I use Bouillon, but anything will do. Of course if you want chicken soup, use chicken stock, but I’m not gonna tell you how to make chicken soup. Now, soup is very versatile, here are the ingredients I’ve used, but feel free to substitute and remove any items.

Ingredients for Tuscan Bean soup

-1 vegetable stock cube, or 4 tsp of vegetable stock powder

-1 litre of boiled water

-1 onion, peeled

-1 sprig of garlic

-1 carrot, peeled

-a chunk of courgette

-1 can of cannellini beans

-A large handful of cherry tomatoes, or 3 big tomatoes

-Seasoning

Method

-Make your stock by adding the boiling water to your cube or powder. Set aside.

-Chop up all your vegetables, in any shape or form, preferably small cos it takes quicker to cook them in the pan.

-Add them all EXCEPT THE TOMATOES to some oil in a saucepan and cook on a medium heat, if you don’t know how much oil to use, I recommend pouring the oil for 2 short seconds, and that should be enough. Sprinkle salt on these vegetables so they don’t stick to the pan. Cover with a lid, this will keep them from drying out.

-Remember to stir the veg, do this until the carrots are soft or you’re bored. Now add your tomatoes, and continue to fry until the tomatoes are slightly shriveled and the juices are coming out. This should take around 5 minutes.

-Add your stock and beans, and cook on a medium heat and leave to simmer for however long you like.

-NOW, at home I have one of those hand-held soup whizzers(?), so I tend to puree the soup a bit to give it a bit more thickness. If you don’t have one, why don’t you try using a potato masher?

-Separate into 2 tubs, freeze one and put the other in the fridge! Each tub should last 2 sittings.

2 Comments

Filed under Pulses, Quick, Snacks and Starters, Store Cupboard, Vegan, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Store cupboard Soup

  1. Love making my own soup – way better than anything you can find in a store, ANYwhere!

  2. Pingback: Black-Eyed Bean Hummus | A Thrifty Foodie

Leave a Reply

