Surprise Bolognese

You wont believe what I, or what my mum years ago, put in that makes this bolognese take on a whole new form. And you cook it differently too, adding the pasta in with the sauce and letting it cook for a bit too. Like I mention a lot of times, I’m actually a vegetarian, but I like to cook for my dad and this one doesn’t seem to fail. So the secret ingredient is baked beans, it sounds fine doesn’t it? It makes sense, and I remember in  my meat-eating days how nice it was. Here’s how you do it.

Method

-800g beef mince

-1 onion, 1 carrot and 2 cloves of garlic all chopped.

-1 x 400g tin of chopped tomatoes

-1 x 410g tin of baked beans

-Some tomato puree

-Any thing that makes your spag bol special, I think lea and perrins, mustard and oxo cubes all work well.

-200g dried pasta, then cooked. Any shape or form that you like.

Method

-Fry and sauté the chopped onion, carrot and garlic to some oil in a big saucepan and cook for 5-10 mins until brown.

-Add the mince and cook in the pan until the meat has turned brown.

-Add chopped tomatoes, any flavourings that you like and finally the baked beans.

-Leave to simmer for about 5 minutes, then add the pasta. Stir really thoroughly until you can see that all the pasta has accessed the sauce. Add a bit of hot water if it is looking dry.

-Leave to cook for about 20 minutes covered.

-What makes it nicer is if you top it with some tears of bread and grated cheese and bake uncovered in the oven for 2o minutes.

3 Comments

Filed under Italian, Meat, Rice and Pasta

3 responses to “Surprise Bolognese

  1. This is definitely new to me! Bakes beans in bolognese? I definitely need to try it out because I’m so intrigued! And it looks absolutely amazing!

  2. This looks yummy….you have a lovely blog…I am having a giveaway in my blog..Y dont you check and join that
    http://yummytummy-aarthi.blogspot.com/2011/05/chocolate-recipe-and-chocolate.html

  3. Dad

    It is delicious, Jess! You should get back into meat-eating and enjoy it yourself!

Leave a Reply

