Bread for Beginners

I call this Bread for Beginners, because I’m the beginner. Even if I have been trying for a while now, bread still seems to baffle me. The other day, for example, I kneaded a wholemeal loaf for TEN MINUTES, and it didn’t rise. We came to the conclusion that it was the yeast, and in the meantime I have resorted to making yeast-less bread in order to perfect my recipes. I made some successful soda bread, but this here is Georgian Bread. My Georgian friend makes this Georgian cheese bread, so it’s actually meant to be filled with cheese, but I liked the dough recipe so much that I thought I would try it without. It did mean it was doughy in the middle, but that was expected due to its original purpose. The nice thing about this bread is that it smells like cake when you take it out the oven. Bread ingredients are not expensive, they are just not what you would normally have in the cupboard if you’re a student. This recipe uses yoghurt, but normal bread recipes don’t, so don’t worry. More trials and errors from my bread escapades are sure to follow. My oven is so annoying cos it will make half the loaf rise and the other half stay down, even though I turned it around. Still, in a bid to make this loaf rise I use extra bicarb and half self-raising flour.

Ingredients

-175g of self-raising flour

-175g of plain flour-plus extra for kneading

-1 egg

-2 tsp of Bicarbonate of soda

-1 tsp salt

-250g plain yoghurt

-25g of soft butter diced

Method

-Preheat oven to gas mark 7/220 c./425 f.

-In a bowl, mulch together the butter, yoghurt and egg with a fork until it has turned into a silky mixture.

-Add both of the flours, bicarb and salt and with a wooden spoon, fold the mixture, making sure it is really well combined.

-Now put the spoon aside, and get your hands in. Kneed it with your hands, if you don’t know how to kneed look at a tutorial video. But basically, you’re aiming to get as much air as possible into the mixture, so I just keep on folding the dough over and over trying to trap lots of air into the mixture. Do this for about 5 minutes. The dough should be silky and soft, and should come away from the edges easily. If you’re finding that it is too sticky, add some more plain flour. Or if it is just too try, add a bit of milk or water.

-Shape your bread into whatever shape you want.

-Place a lightly floured baking sheet on a baking tray, and place your dough on it. Put in the oven for 25-30 minutes, check on it half way through to make sure it is rising on all sides, turn it around if need be. The bread is done when it is brown on top, and when you tap the base the loaf sounds hollow.

6 Comments

Filed under Bread, Pastries and Pizza, Vegetarian

6 responses to “Bread for Beginners

  1. Your bread looks lovely! My mouth is watering, as it’s breakfast time and I am out of bread!!

  2. I love fresh bread! It is so rewarding when it turns out!

  3. I’m with Erin! Not much beats the smell of bread fresh out of the oven!

  4. Nags

    wow that does look easy! and i love your blog bg image :)

  5. This bread looks amazing! Love your site!

  6. What a fun bread recipe. Yeast can be a bit temperamental, but it is so worth it when it works out. ;)

Leave a Reply

