Pizza Parmesan Pull-Apart Dough Balls

This is a very simple recipe, simple because of all the doughy sort of recipes, pizza dough is the one thing I can actually do. Thank God. These dough balls are just pulled from the baking dish and remain in their spherical shape. I’ve been working as a waitress for catered events, and it really isn’t a great job because I love food and I see all these great canapés being eaten and I die a little inside (but what kills me more is when someone ordered me to sort out the remaining cheese from the cheese board, it floored me). So when my friend said we can no longer make pizza, but we are having a bbq, make something like garlic bread? I was like CANAPE TIME. Enjoy. By the way this is really easy and cheap. Here they are in action with some garlic butter!

Ingredients

-400g plain flour

-1 x 7g sachet of yeast

-3 tablespoons of oil (plus more for greasing and oiling the balls)

-400 ml lukewarm water

-1 tsp salt

-Italian ‘erbs, like oregano and basil

-Parmesan (optional)

Method

-In a jug, mix the yeast, oil and water (YOW) together with a fork.

-Put the flour, herbs and salt in a bowl, and make a well in the middle.

-In stages add the YOW to the flour mixture, and with a fork bind the ingredients together. I found I had a lot of  YOW left over, so just do it slowly, or you’re left with a gloopy mess.

-Once the dough is coming together in a bowl, put the fork down, dust your hands with flour and sprinkle some on the dough and start to knead the mixture. Use your instinct, if it is too sticky and you’re getting nowhere, add flour, if it is really stiff add some YOW. The dough should be really silky and come easily from the sides.

-Put a cloth over the bowl and store in a warm place for about an hour.

-Pre-heat oven to gas mark 7/ 220 c/424 f. If you grab a dish, it could be one that is shaped like a dougnut, or just an ordinary cake tin, and oil it and sprinkle a bit of flour on the inside. Next make a oil and herb mixture, this is about a tablespoon of oil mixed with some dried green herbage.

-After an hour your dough should have doubled in size. At this point I grated about 3 handfuls of parmesan on top of the dough and kneaded it into the mixture.  If you don’t have parmesan, knead it anyway. Using a bit of flour to make the job easier.

-Now it gets oily. Grab a small lump of dough, about a reallllyyyy heaped teaspoon size, and dip it in the oil and herb mixture. With your hands form into a perfect sphere, and plop in your baking dish. Continue to do this until you have run out of dough, piling the balls on top of each other.

-Put in the oven for about 40 minutes and you have your perfect summer side dish!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

5 Comments

Filed under Bread, Pastries and Pizza, Cheese, Italian, Snacks and Starters, Vegetarian

5 responses to “Pizza Parmesan Pull-Apart Dough Balls

  1. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

  2. Dad

    Pity I didn’t have a chance to eat some of this. Please make it again!

  3. looks great! would love to have this with my soup tonight ;)

  4. I think I saw this on TS or FG yest and before I could click, my iphone conked off..Thanks for stopping by! It looks like monkey bread but cheesy dough balls sound so awesome- I think I can give up my fav Costco dinner rolls for these!

  5. Awwww man I would LOVE this. It’s like monkey bread but savory. Awesome! I want to thank you for stopping by and saying hi over at my site. Thank you, you seem really great. :)

    ps. I’ve been fortunate enough to visit a Tesco’s over in London -Best supermarket ever!! I kinda went crazy…

    SB.

Leave a Reply

