Buckwheat CAKE?!?!

 

“What the HELL is buckwheat cake? That sounds horrendous. Is it even in the English language?”. Yes, I was just as sceptical, but then again I’m quite weird with food. For example, I usually prefer fruit based lunches rather than salty lunches because I have a massive sweet tooth. So when I came across this recipe it was amazing. “Its grains and seeds with fruit? With cinnamon?! This is soo weird.” But let me tell you, it works. This a filling “cake” made of raw buckwheat, flax seeds, banana and much more. And I say “cake”, because it’s a meal, rather than dessert, like my Savoury Cake. I guess this is not that thrifty, in that it uses fresh ingredients such as raspberries etc and flax seeds (my mum and sister  inhale them). However, buckwheat is a grain which only costs £1.80. I got my inspiration from this blog, but I think this woman photographs it better.

Ingredients

-1/4 cup of ground buckwheat

-1 tbsp buckwheat

-1/2 banana mashed

-3 tbsp milk (I used soya)

-1 tsp vanilla extract

-1 tbsp of flax seed ground mixed with 2 tbsp warm water (I only learnt this after, I wished I had done this cos my cake could have been more moist)

-1/2 tsp baking powder

-1 tsp cinammon

-3 rasperries

-3 strawberries chopped

-some blueberries

serve with: 

-Yogurt and Mixed Nut butter(recipe below)!!

Method

-Mix the banana, milk and vanilla extract, and in another bowl mix together the remaining ingredients.

-Then mix the two mixtures together. Pour into a microwaveable bowl. If you want to eat it out a  bowl, you don’t need to grease it, but if you want to turn it out onto a plate, grease the bowl before pouring the mixture into it.

-Put in the microwave for 2 minutes, and voila. Serve with yoghurt and almond butter. Nom nom nom.

Mixed Nut Butter

-I did it! It worked! I have real, edible nut butter which is like peanut butter-but better obvs.

Ingredients

-1 cup of mixed nuts

-300 ml water

-1 1/2 tsp salt

Method

-Process nuts until starting to clump thoroughly, then add the water and blend until silky smooth.

3 Comments

Filed under Grains, Quick, Vegan, Vegetarian

3 responses to “Buckwheat CAKE?!?!

  1. So glad you liked it and love the first photo!!

  2. This is such an interesting and healthy approach to cake, and delicious I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

