Spicy Salsa Roast Chicken (with chorizo)

This is medium on the thrifty scale. I think if you remove the chorizo then you have a very affordable, healthy and filling chicken dish. I’m only really putting it up because my mum asked me to, I told her to start making this for my dad when I go back to university because it’s easy to make.  I was about to start explaining it when she said “as long as you put it on your site then you don’t need to explain it”. I wasn’t gonna put it on, but decided I might as well. Also, the internet was cut off for one reason or another and I got bored so I started taking photos.

Ingredients (serves 2)

-2 chicken breast fillets

-1 onion

-1 clove of garlic

-1 big tomato

-2 tsp hot chilli sauce

-1 tsp paprika

-1 tsp of cayenne pepper

-1 tsp basil

-50g Chorizo sausage (optional)

Method

-I think a food processor/blender is required here as you want to make a paste for the chicken to sit in.  So roughly chop the onion, garlic and tomato, then stick them and all the other ingredients minus the chicken in a food processor and blend until you have a paste like consistency.

-I chose to leave the chicken in the marinade for the afternoon before I cooked it, it can be left to marinade in the sauce for up to 24hrs, but this is not necessary. If you want to do the former, put the marinade and chicken into a zip and seal bag and leave it in the fridge.

-After it has marinaded, or if you’re cooking it immediately, pre-heat the oven to gas mark 8/220 c.

- Put the chicken in a small baking dish. If you’re using chorizo, chop it up into medallions, and stuff it in the chicken. There is usually an open slit in the fillet which makes it easy for the chorizo to sit in. Put the dish in the oven, it should take an hour/ hour and a half.

- However, after about every 20 minutes take the dish out, and, with a spoon, pour the juices over the chicken (baste it). This will prevent the chicken from drying out and allow the chorizo flavours be absorbed by the chicken.

-It is done when the tomato paste has a browned a bit and looks like the photo!

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 Comments

Filed under Meat, Mediterranean

4 responses to “Spicy Salsa Roast Chicken (with chorizo)

  1. This is a very thrifty and easy recipe. Chorizo and paprika can make anything delicious… in my humble opinion.

  2. This looks so delicious!! What a great recipe :)

  3. Looks like a great chicken recipe. The chorizo is a great addition!

  4. Chorizo costs a fortune, but you don’t need much of it to give something like this a proper kick. It’s a fantastic ingredient.

    My problem is that it doesn’t survive for long in my fridge. Too easy to slice off just another bit. And maybe another. And another….

Leave a Reply

