Mexican Quinoa

I do love me some Mexican food. Everyone knows that I do. And everyone else loves it too. What’s not to love? Spice, flavour etce etc. Well, a few days ago I  had quite an off day. Actually it was fine, but my internet had still been playing up, and so I resorted to filling out a free health care form which was too bureaucratic for me, and then my work shift was not that great…And then I finished reading Anne Frank on the way back from work at about 12am, and I was almost in tears. And then weirdly enough, a man who shouted at me for jumping the bus queue(I didn’t) last week happened to sit next to me this week (he had just told off another man for doing the same thing). This just got all my anger riled up, and I still had not had any dinner. So when I got home I had a reasonable meal, hummus, bread, cheese salad-but I was not satisfied. My mum and sister have the ability to be content with NOTHING(i.e salad) for dinner, so to prevent this from happening again I decided to prepare a dinner that would make me happy when I got home. I made this, and it’s tossed in a chilli and lime dressing so it tastes really fresh but also quite spicy.  So, although work had given me some lovely risotto canapes I was not full enough to not eat this. It was great!

Ingredients (feeds 3)

-2 Sweet Potatoes

-stalks of asparagus, maybe about 7-8

-Half a can of black beans (200g)

-1 cup of quinoa, cooked to packet instructions

-Paprika!

For the dressing(approx.)

-Juice of half a lime

-2 tsp of powdered cayenne pepper

-1 tbsp white wine vinegar

-1 tbsp oil

-a handful of cherry tomatoes

-1 tsp honey

Method

-Preheat the oven to gas mark 8/220c. Peel your sweet potatoes and chop them into chunks.

-Place in a baking dish with the asparagus, and drizzle with a dainty bit of oil and smother in paprika.

-Leave this to cook until the potatoes are done, around 30-40 minutes, turning halfway through. However, after 20 minutes place your black beans in the dish and cover in paprika. Continue to cook until potatoes are crispy, but soft.

-Once done mix this contents of the baking dish with the quinoa and prepare your dressing.

-In a food processor, process everything, apart from the honey until pulverised. Then add the honey. Do a taste test, and see if you need more vinegar etc.

-Pour the dressing over the quina mixture and mix well.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Comments

Filed under Grains, Mexican, Pulses, Quick, Store Cupboard, Vegan, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Mexican Quinoa

  1. Sounds and looks lovely Jess! The top two images (yellow plate ) are fabulous.

  2. Wow… another quinoa salad… I love the grains, Will bookmarked this. Thanks :D
    I am starting to get acquainted with Quinoa… black quinoa that is.

Leave a Reply

