Panzanella

Damn, your bread’s gone stale. How do you redeem this? What a waste of money, I mean does the bread manufacturing company think you can eat 12 slices in 3 days? Really?  I’m a big bread fan, but not, surprisingly, of sandwiches. I like fresh loaves with hummus, or in this salad. Stale bread which has absorbed the juices of the tomatoes and the vinegar of the dressing. Mmmm.

It’s a really good recipe because you can do it with whatever you want. You can do it posh and add capers, yellow pepper and fresh basil, or you can do it to it’s bare minimum-tomatoes, onions, bread and a dressing. This was lovely, I nearly ate the whole thing, I’ve been seriously craving salt and the capers and vinegar-absorbed bread really hit the spot.

Ingredients
-4-5 Salad Tomatoes

-150g stale bread (If you don’t have stale bread, put your bread in a microwave for 1-2 minutes)

-1 yellow pepper

-1 dessert spoon of capers

-1 clove of garlic

-1 red onion

-60 ml red wine vinegar (but you can use whatever you have to hand)

-120 ml extra virgin olive oil

-handful of fresh basil leaves

Method

-Chop up your onion into crescents, and put in your salad bowl with minced garlic and the red wine vinegar whilst you chop your other ingredients.

-Chop your tomatoes, pepper and fresh  basil leaves and add to the bowl with the capers.

-Tear your bread into bitesize pieces and add to the salad bowl, followed by the olive oil. Using your hands mix the salad reallllly well, making sure the vinegar and oil have spread throughout the ingredients. Sprinkle a bit of salt on top and preferably wait half an hour before serving.

10 Comments

Filed under Italian, Mediterranean, Quick, Vegan, Vegetarian

10 responses to “Panzanella

  1. Surpisingly, a bread salad is very tasty! The images make it look as good as it tastes!

  2. Great recipe! such a colourful salad :)

  3. My husband makes great bread which doesn’t normally last long enough to go stale. I am going to have to hide a few slices to make this lovely salad. I’ve been meaning to try it for ages – your photo has me drooling.

  4. What a delicious recipe, looks gorgeous!! :)

  5. Fantastically bright colors – a very entertaining dish!

  6. I love panzanella salad!! My brother introduced me to it a few years ago! Couldn’t live without it now!

  7. That sounds delicious! I’ve heard of panzanella, but I’ve never had it.

  8. I love panzanella… :-) Yours look perfect! You got me craving for it and it is soooo cold and rainy down here!!!

  9. Excellent use for stale bread. I haven’t had this in forever and it looks perfect for a summer lunch/dinner.

Leave a Reply

