Sympathy Soup

I’m officially out of running for the next week. I keep on NOT running, and then racing straight away. So now I am voluntarily descending into depression because I can’t run, and swimming and cycling just don’t cut it at all. I’d rather do nothing (that’s a lie, but whilst my hamstring feels like it’s about to explode, I can’t really do any physical exertion).  I suspect it will only be a week out, but still. Anyway, in the mean time I am making myself boring meals like soup because I can’t have anything unhealthy or too carby because I’m doing no sport. Joy.

Anyway I’ve been craving mushroom soup because I love the smell of mushrooms and garlic and feel free to remove the garlic in the recipe (but why would you WANT to?). I wanted to make this without cream because it’s not needed in soups but many supermarkets and big brands tend to put cream in soups. I avoided this just by blending the soup in my food processor and it got a great smooth texture. How could you make this more filling? Well I read this on OhSheGlows, where she adds quinoa which I must say is a great idea but it might make it a bit bitty. Of course add pearl barley, but that means the cooking process is longer. The great thing about this recipe is that it’s quick, easy and tasty.

Sorry I’m in such a foul and boring mood. I have no appetite because I’m not running, therefore food no longer interests me.

Ingredients

-1x white onion-chopped

-3x cloves of garlic-chopped

-100g mushrooms chopped

-500ml of vegetable stock

-1 tsp mustard (optional).

Method

-Fry the onion, garlic and mushrooms in some olive oil and salt until very soft.

-Add the stock and bring to the boil. Once boiling add the mustard and leave to simmer for about 20 minutes.

-Put in a food blender and blend until it has a creamy texture.

-Yum.

Leave a comment

Filed under Snacks and Starters, Store Cupboard, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

