A Lentil Christmas

Merry Christmas all. It’s five days until the big day and, for once, I’VE GOT ALL PRESENTS! This has never happened to me before.  I’m also very pleased to say that I think I’ve  got quite good presents for my family this Noel. Bring on the festivities!

However, I will find it harder than usual to be completely immersed in the festive spirit this year as my mind is  occupied by two things: my pressures from uni (4 exams 1 essay) and my healing process from my injury. The injury wont budge, which means I’m tied to the pool. BUT HEY IT’S CHRISTMAS AND IT COMES BUT ONCE A YEAR!

So right here I’ve made a delicious semi-raw lentil salad. When it comes to the Christmas season, it’s important to retain some normality and have healthy days. I spent the first 15 years of my life eating a lot of rubbish, then I had a turnaround and now I actually crave raw salads and the such. So when people talk about their over indulgence over the holiday season, I don’t have reciprocal guilt, because I have wholesome, TASTY stuff like this.

Ingredients

-1 cup of brown lentils

-3 cups of water

-Any seasoning you wish, I used salt, pepper and garlic powder.

-1 half of a red onion-chopped finely

-2x salad onions-chopped

-1 stick of celery-chopped

-1 carrot-shredded

-1 handful of crushed walnuts

-1 small handful of blueberries (optional, they were just in my fridge)

-4-5 black olives (again optional)-chopped

-4 cherry tomatoes, or 1 tomato-chopped

Method

-Bring lentils and water to boil, add seasoning and leave to simmer for about  30 minutes or until lentils are soft. Mine took about 40 minutes. Remember to add water if it looks like it’s disappearing.

-Drain lentils and put in a bowl with the other ingredients. A some French dressing, or  a new favourite of mine: tahini lemon dressing from Angela Liddon.

3 Comments

Filed under Grains, Quick, Vegan, Vegetarian

3 responses to “A Lentil Christmas

  1. I have never really tried adding lentils to salads. Sounds like a great to way a filling and substantial salad. Looks colourful too..

  2. That looks perfect for the Holidays! Yum and healthy. Beautiful.

  3. TE

    This salad is amazing! The lightened-up dressing is perfect, just add it slowly, so as to not add too much – it could get overpowering. I added some chopped snap peas and also ran short on lemon juice, so I topped off with some fresh lime juice; toasted the walnuts before adding, and served it alongside some toasted sourdough bread. Preference is to serve this cold…

    A question, though: what are considered salad onions – shallots? scallions? I’d think scallions would be awesome here.

    Again, great recipe – thank you!

Leave a Reply

