Mincemeat Chritstmas Cupcakes

These aren’t just any cupcakes, these are my ‘mincemeat’ cupcakes. Dense, sweet  and (slightly) healthier than your average! I wanted to make a xmas themed cupcakes, because my mum bought some cupcake cases which were Christmas themed. I used to bake a lot, but then I just ate what I made which is obviously not great. So then I moved to making healthy foods. I think I also got really sick of eating frosting.

Anyway, because of all my baking abilities I now know the quantities of making cake, which allowed me to be far more creative with these Christmas goodies. I processed some mincemeat (bar the suet) ingredients, and then added that to the normal batter, you can of course add your own shop bought mincemeat. I hope you have a Merry Christmas!

On the injury front, I’m still injured and on Monday it will have been a month since I ran properly. I’m healing slowly, one day I will wake up with no stiffness!

Ingredients

Mincemeat

-1 Apple

-1/3 cup of sultanas

-1/3 cup of prunes

-2 tsp mixed spice

-juice of 1 orange

-1 tbsp brown sugar

Cake

-125g wholemeal self-raising flour

-125g butter, softened

-75g brown sugar

-2 tsp baking powder

-2 eggs

-50ml milk

Method

-Pre-heat oven to gas mark 6. Line a cupcake tray with cases, this serves about 12-16 cup cakes

-In a food processor, process all the mincemeat ingredients until ‘bitty’ but not totally pureed.

-Cream the butter and sugar together until well-combined, then add the remaining ingredients, including the mincemeat.

-Combine well until batter-like.

-Divide the batter into the cases and place in the oven. Cook for 30-40 minutes, or until when you tap the base, it is firm.

1 Comment

Filed under Desserts, Vegetarian

One response to “Mincemeat Chritstmas Cupcakes

  1. I love the traditional recipes, reinvented! I wish mincemeat had a better name, it is so much more lovely than it’s name suggests :)

Leave a Reply

