How to be Healthy: Tofu Nuggets

I honestly hate snow. Look at it, being all present and debilitating. How can anyone do anything in this sort of weather? Luckily this melted within a couple of days. Global warming-1 Snow-0.

I have never really eaten tofu by myself before. I mean, I have tried others’, but I personally had never tried to cook it because I found it flavourless. That is not necessarily a bad thing, it means it can absorb all the flavours of other things, hence it is really effective in a curry or stir-fry. I got the idea for these tofu nuggets from the one and only OhSheGlows (link will open in new window). Angela has had the same experience with tofu as me, and she highly recommended these.

They did remind me a lot of chicken nuggets, my former favourite food, but eating them just didn’t feel that great. Their exterior was delicious, really delicious, but the tofu still maintained that flavourless-ness. Hmmmm. My next recipe with tofu will be roasted tofu, because I love everything roasted, and I think it will help to allow me to examine tofu’s real taste and texture.

Nonetheless, this recipe was great and I will definitely be making it again. Tofu is extremely beneficial to your health, and thus the reason why I put it in my shopping basket this week. If you’re looking for a healthy, meatless sandwich filler-choose this. If you’re looking for a chicken nugget replacement-choose this. If you’re looking for a quick, salad topper-choose this. But if you’re looking for a recipe that will enhance the taste of tofu, don’t pick this. I feel the flavours of the tofu were hidden.

Ingredients-serves 2

-200g tofu- wrap the tofu in a clean kitchen cloth, and place a couple of heavy objects (i.e plates) on top, leave for about 10-15 minutes.

-250ml of milk (soya milk etc if wanting to be vegan)

-50ml of white wine vinegar (optional)

-1/2 cup of breadcrumbs

-1/3 cup of polenta/cornmeal

-1 tsp of each: ground cumin, paprika, dried herbs, coriander and salt.

Method

-Pre-heat oven to 180 c. Lay greaseproof paper on a baking tray, or grease a baking tray.

-Whilst the tofu is soaking, in a bowl mix together the milk and vinegar.

-In another bowl, mix together the remaining ingredients (bar the tofu, obviously).

-Once the tofu has soaked, cut into strips just under 1cm thick.

-With one hand, dip a tofu strip in the milk and then into the crumb mixture. With the other hand, sprinkle a bit more of the crumb mixture on the tofu making sure the entire strip is covered and then place on the greaseproof paper.

-Continue with this with the remaining strips. You might run out of crumb mixture, if so make some more. Common sense really!

-Place in the oven for 30-40 minutes until the exterior has browned. Enjoy with some home-made fries or on top of a salad!

1 Comment

Filed under How to be Healthy, Quick, Vegan, Vegetarian

One response to “How to be Healthy: Tofu Nuggets

  1. I have never baked Tofu like this. Great idea! I usually eat tofu in stir-fries, soup and salads :)

Leave a Reply

