Special Sticky Toffee Pudding

These past 3-4 weeks, I have been dying. Literally. Physical and mental turmoil. I have had lots and lots and lots and LOTS of work to do. Important work as well, that actually counts. Oh and right when all this work comes, my computer chooses to die. Therefore everyday I get up and go to the library, stare at books and computers all day. Oh and then my ipod breaks. And then my memory stick. It could be worse because I didn’t loose work, but I definitely almost lost the will.

Then I got a cold/cough. It was not a monstrous one(I didn’t loose my voice, the sign of a bad cold for me), but I never get ill so it really threw me. It made me run down and then it exacerbated my injury. Normally I would be fine with a cold, but remember I was at uni for about 9 hours a day.

However, as my work gets proof read by my mother, my mental state has calmed and I have a bit of a cough now but that’s it. I am currently lying in bed writing this, it feels good.

So here we have a cake that you can eat to make everything better if you have lots of work, or to celebrate having no work. It’s indulgent, and it has DATES in it. WHO KNEW STICKY TOFFEE PUDDING HAD DATES IN IT!?!?! This is my favourite ever dessert. It’s so nice with vanilla ice cream. Enjoy.

Ingredients (adapted from from Nigel Slater and James Martin)

-50-60g butter

-170g brown sugar

-2 eggs

-150g self-raising flour

-1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

-1tsp vanilla essence

-200g  seedless dates

-250ml hot water

-For the toffee sauce, click here (will open in a new window)

Method

-Preheat oven to gas mark 6/200c. Grease ideally a spring-form cake tin, but any baking tray you have to hand will work.

-If using a food processor, process the dates and hot water, until it has a paste-like texture, set aside the mixture for 10 minutes and wash food processor bowl. If using hand, chopped the dates very finely and mix with hot water and set aside for 10 minutes.

-Cream together, by hand or by processor, the butter and sugar. Once that has a creamy texture, add the two eggs, process/mix well until all is combined.

-Then add the flour, bicarb and vanilla and mix again until everything is combined and resembles batter.

-Add the dates  mixture to the batter and process until everything is combined and smooth. The mixture should be a dark coffee colour. Pour into your cake tin and place in the oven for about 30-40 minutes. It is ready when the top is springy and when you put a metal spike or knife in it, it comes out clean.

-*5 minutes before serving, heat up your toffee sauce,  prod lots of holes in the top of the cake and pour about 1/4 of the sauce mixture over the cake so it goes down the holes. And leave for 2-5 minutes.

-Serve with more toffee sauce and vanilla ice-cream

Make ahead note:

-This can be done ahead of time. Simply make the cake and sauce separately. 15 minutes for eating cover  cake with foil, and place in oven at 180 c. After 10 minutes, do step *. Reheat sauce in a saucepan and serve along side cake.

3 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Other

3 responses to “Special Sticky Toffee Pudding

  1. This really does look special! Sticky and delicious. I hope everything eases up for you really soon.

  2. Pingback: Cooking Up My Bookmarks: Really Good, Really Healthy Brownies | A Thrifty Foodie

  3. inonekitchen

    This looks SO good!

Leave a Reply

