How to be Healthy: Motivation Beans

FIRST. A big thank you to The Healthy Foodie for mentioning me in her amazing blog. I check this woman’s blog everyday for inspiration. She makes good pizza, and thus she can’t do any wrong. I recommend you take a lot. But first…

It is so hard to find motivation to cook an amazing, overwhelmingly good meal.

I’m only human. I’m only a student (at one of the top 100 best universities in the world). I’m only a ‘NO-MEAT ATHLETE’.

This last one means that more than ever I have to cook proper food. Personally, I cannot afford (physically) to eat foods that are lacking in things. I am currently undergoing a cross-training regime, where I lower my mileage a bit in the week and replace it with swims. I have also started cycling to uni. Cross training, according to my osteopath, is vital to avoid injury. And I’m doing anything to avoid that beast.

BUT I DIGRESS. This post is about motivation. Motivation is SO hard to fathom. In my opinion, we’re all lazy. It’s just how well you’re able to overcome the laziness, doing sport makes you a lot more productive with your time. But even I’ll come back from about 5 to 7 (to occasionally 9!)  hours in the library, and then I might have been swimming or running in the day and the last thing I want to do is cook. I can’t be bothered to wait around. I’M HUNGRY and TIRED. GIVE ME FOOD AND LET ME WATCH SOME SCANDINAVIAN THRILLERS AND READ MY KINDLE. But as I said, I can’t afford to put ready meals in the oven, what nutrition will they provide?

Celebrity chefs are constantly releasing ‘easy’ and ‘quick’ recipes to draw you in. But I have no financial incentive like them, I’m giving you these recipes out of the goodness of my heart .

So what are these motivation beans? Ha, they’re just beans. But they’re so fricken cheap and easy to make. Why have a fried egg on toast when this bean recipe takes quicker, tastes better and is not made of a chicken’s period? hehe.

I call them motivation beans because they motivate you to do a bit of cooking, be healthy and end your day on a high.

The psychological effect of these beans is GOOD, cos they take two secs, but when you’ve made them you’re all smug like ‘Look what I just made, Jamie’s 30 minute meals can SUCK IT’.

ANYWAY, here you are. Enjoy. Be motivated.

Ingredients (serves 2)

-Half a red onion, chopped

-Two cloves garlic

-1 salt

-2 tsp of dried herbs

-1 tsp chilli powder (optional)

-1 tbsp lemon juice (optional)

-1x 400g can of butter beans, drained and rinsed

-6 olives  chopped (optional)

-100ml of water

-1 massive handful of spinach

Method

-Fry the onion and garlic in some olive oil and add the salt so that it doesn’t stick to the surface of the pan.

-Once softened, add the the remaining ingredients BAR the spinach.

-Once the beans exterior have started to brown off, and the mixture is very hot, add the spinach.

-When the spinach has wilted, the beans are ready. If it is all a bit dry, add a bit more water! Enjoy

2 Comments

Filed under How to be Healthy, Pulses, Store Cupboard, Vegan, Vegetarian

2 responses to “How to be Healthy: Motivation Beans

  1. Anthony White

    Looks tasty, Jess! For the meat-eater, this could be even tastier with some bits of bacon added, to make a real meal in one!

  2. Hillarie M

    Great recipe, thanks for sharing!

    I left the lemon and olives out, and added mushrooms and a fresh andouille sausage for some additional flavor :)

Leave a Reply

