Olive Oil Brownies. Yes.

I didn’t have butter. That was the only reason I used olive oil. I thought…Why wouldn’t it work? It must be on google/foodgawker somewhere!  Yeh, well it was.

I had made brownies for my friend for her birthday the previous week, and so I had left over eggs. I dislike eggs a lot and didn’t want to eat them, so I offered them to my house, but only 1 was eaten. So I was like: FINE I’LL BAKE. It was also a Saturday, and all my friends were going out but I still had exams so I was left relatively at a loose end. So, I thought, it’s either watch the Killing for the next 3 hours or bake.

I baked.

THEN I watched the Killing.

Yeah they were BANG. Soooo good. Olive oil made absolutely no difference. So basically all these years, people have been using butter (in my mum’s case, A WHOLE PACK) to make these brownies, whilst they could be using something that’s a lot healthier.

They were just great.

Ingredients

-1 1/2 cup of brown sugar

-2 eggs

-1/2 cup olive oil (250 ml)

-3/4 cup of cocoa powder

-1 cup of flour

-1 tsp baking powder

-100ml milk

-1 tsp vanilla essence

-3 Maryland cookies (optional) (they were on discount)

Method

-Preheat the oven to 180 c, and line a baking dish with greaseproof paper or tin foil (if using foil, grease first).

-In a food processor or in a mixing bowl, mix/process together the eggs and sugar.

-Once well combined, add the oil and continue combining the mixture.

-Add the remaining ingredients and continue to mix. If it seems very sticky, add some more milk.

-Spread into a baking dish and crumble the cookies on top, if using.

-Put in the oven for 40 minutes, or until the brownies feel firm on top but still a tiny bit of softness. Check they’re done by prodding a knife in it, making sure it comes out clean.

2 Comments

Filed under Desserts

2 responses to “Olive Oil Brownies. Yes.

  1. They sound great! Does olive oil seriously not taste any different?

  2. didn’t taste any different, however if i could change it I would have added MORE oil, as they dried out after a day. or 5 minutes before taking out the oven, i’d prod some holes in the top and pour over some glaze to moisten it inside.

Leave a Reply

