Montpellier and Cooking Up My Bookmarks: Soda Bread

[Source]

I’m moving to France in September. I have a flat all sorted and I’m RIDIC excited. I just went to Montpellier for 4 days to flat hunt, and I just fell in love. I’m so excited to get there. I mean,  who wouldn’t want to live in the South of France? For one thing, it’s hot. And I always say that I’m a reptile. A cold-blooded reptile. I am always cold and can just bake in the mid-day sun with no shade.

Secondly, it’s FRANCE. It’s the home of bread, cheese and wine. We had amazing cheese and bread and wine. True, there were some difficulties being pescetarians, erring on the side of vegetarians, but we survived.

Montpellier was diverse and, luckily, quite sporty. I went for a 33km bike ride. And I gotta tan. Some photos. Sorry they’re so awful, I was travelling only on hand luggage, so sadly I couldn’t bring my canon:

 (it doesn’t look very hot here, but it was)

ANYWAY, onto food. I made bread. I don’t think it was my greatest success, but it’s soda bread which has that densey, cakey flavour. It’s made with oats as well. GORGE. VOILA (Thats French you know).

It requires buttermilk, but I’ve made soda bread with normal milk, and this time I used normal milk PLUS lemon juice. This is from my bookmark at Eat Live Travel Write, but I altered it slightly because I added porridge oats.

Ingredients

-2 Cups of plain flour

-1 cup of porridge oats

-2oo ml of buttermilk, or normal milk with 2 tbsp of lemon juice (left to sit for 10 minutes)

-1 tsp salt

-1 heaped teaspoon of Bicarbonate of soda

Method

-Preheat oven to gas mark 8, and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

-Sift the dry ingredients(not oats) together in a bowl and THEN add the oats, then 3/4 of the milk.

-Mix together with a fork until it begins to bind. Once binding, add a bit more milk, Dust your hands with flour and knead the mixture. It should be on the sticky side, if not add the milk. Dont knead for too long. For more advice on this part of the process, go directly to the bookmark above.

-Either divide into 4  and turn into rolls, or simply plonk the dough on the paper (did I just say plonk?). Cut a cross through the top(s). And cook for about 50 minutes, when you tap the bottom of the bread, it should sound hollow.

2 Comments

Filed under Bread, Pastries and Pizza, Quick, Store Cupboard

2 responses to “Montpellier and Cooking Up My Bookmarks: Soda Bread

  1. aspiringsteph

    Wow!! I just discovered your blog and this looks super easy and delicious!!! I don’t have plain flour, but do you think some other grain flour with xanthan gum would work?? thanks!!!

  2. Aww a year in France, how fantastic! Hope you have a fab time and I’ll look forward to reading all about your foodie adventures :)

Leave a Reply

