Festive Frugal Fudge

016ed

There is absolutely nothing festive about this fudge. You can make it in any season you like, but that doesn’t matter, I like alliteration and thus this is called festive fudge.

I hope all your Christmases were lovely and full of great things. I myself had probably one of the best Christmases on record. It marked a positive contrast from last year’s bleak period of injury and exams. This Christmas I still have backpain but I have no exams. YAY.

105

The weather was GRIM on Christmas day, but as long as it didn’t snow I was very happy. It was very Londonny and grey, which is what I like. Got a bit sopping wet on my run but it was invigorating. Our Christmas meal was of course a traditional one with all the trimmings. Us vegetarians had nutroast, which was so filling and I just got really full and felt like a pregnant lady. It unfortunately meant that I couldn’t have the fudge as a post post post post post meal treat. (I ate a lot).

Anyway, I have never made fudge  before. I thought it was very beyond me. I thought ‘it’s a SWEET, don’t you  need thermometers for that sort of craziness?’ No. It turns out. This salted caramel fudge was pretty darn simple. ENJOY.

018ed

Ingredients

-400g caster sugar

-125 g butter

-1x 397g can condensed milk

-100ml milk

-2 tbsp of golden syrup

-Salt crystals

Method

-Prepare a small baking tin with greaseproof paper.

-Melt all the ingredients in a pan on a low heat, stirring constantly.

-Bring the mixture to a boil, continuing to stir. It should start boiling ferociously, and which point you should be prepared to…you know, just be prepared.

-Take off the heat completely at this point. YOU KNOW ITS READY WHEN YOU DROP A BIT INTO ICE WATER AND IT SOLIDIFIES INTO A BALL OF FUDGE. 

-Once off the heat, beat the mixture with a wooden spoon continuously until it comes away from the side and is very thick. This could take up to 10 minutes.

-Pour the mixture into your baking tray and smooth down. Sprinkle salts crystals on top, and press down with the back of a spoon to push into fudge mixture.

-Place in fridge for up to four hours, when it then should be ready to eat. Store in the fridge.

2 Comments

Filed under Desserts

2 responses to “Festive Frugal Fudge

  1. Paul

    Nice work Jess. Keep up the Christmas cheer and goodies too!

  2. Anthony White

    This is delicious fudge Jess. The salty edge to it really brings out the flavour. x

Leave a Reply

