I don’t even like bananas that much…

IMG_4667

So like, this was gonna be a great comeback post with TWO banana recipes, Banana Clusters and Banana Bread. However, although the banana bread (made with dates AND walnuts) was delicious, when I turned it out onto the cooling rack, a bit of the bottom fell off, and I didn’t wanna take a photo of a bloody ugly cake. So yeh, just one banana recipe. Soz.

The reason I have so many bananas is because my parents, my mum, seem to still be buying food for 5 people when actually there are only 2 of them, neither of whom eat bananas. So I came back for a week from France to find, amongst eggs dating back from September and hummus from January, 9 over ripe bananas.

‘WE GOTTA DO SOMEFING WITH THESE BANANAS’ me and my sis said. So I made these Banana coconut clusters and banana bread.

IMG_4654

Now my house smells like bloody bananas.

IMG_4670

BANANA CLUSTERS

Ingredients

-1 cup of porridge oats, 1/2 cup of porridges processed to rubble (don’t worry if you can’t do this)

-1/2 cup of ground almonds, or another type of nut

-1/3 cup of desiccated coconut

-1/2 cup of sultanas (or chocolate chips???)

-1/4 cup mixed nuts (optional)

-1 tsp baking powder

-1 tsp vanilla essence

-1 tsp ground nutmeg

-3 very ripe bananas

-1/4 cup of melted coconut oil

Method

-Pre-heat oven to gas mark 5 and line two baking trays with greaseproof paper.

-Mix together all the dry ingredients in one bowl, and mix together all the wet ingredients (the banana, vanilla essence and coconut) in another one.

-Add the wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix reallly well.

-Make your clusters. I used about a teaspoon for each cluster, and placed them on the baking tray. I think it was about 9-12 clusters on each tray.

-Cook for about 20 minutes, or less depending on your oven, until golden brown and firm to touch.

-Leave to cool, this will allow them to firm up.  ANNJOYYY BON APPETIT.

2 Comments

Filed under Healthy Sweets, Snacks and Starters

2 responses to “I don’t even like bananas that much…

  1. Tony White

    Look forward to having one of these!

  2. Pingback: Banana Coconut Clusterf- « Faster or Greener

Leave a Reply

