I want it to be SUMMER salad!

IMG_8283

OHHAYIMBACK. With a vengeance. Or vindiction, cos where the HELL is the British summer? I did not leave the Med for this.  It’s ridiculous cos June in London is at least warm, but it’s not even warm, I’m still wearing my parka. Everything I wanted to eat, like summery stuff, doesn’t really seem suitable.

I mean, come on.

IMG_8298

This salad seems just as ridiculous. It’s looking at me like: Why did you make me? It’s not hot enough to have a refreshing salad.

But so what, I made it, I ate it, it was really good.

My mum even thought it was good. She refused to eat it at first cos she has that ‘carbophobia’ mindset of the 80s, but then she took a taster at the end of the meal and she was like ‘OH THAT IS JUST DELICIOUS’. That showed her. 

Ingredients-Yield-2-3 Cups

-140g red rice

-60-80g couscous

-1 onion

-1 clove of garlice

-1 stick of celery

-1 carrot

-a small handful of chopped walnuts

Dressing

-1 shot glass of walnut oil (or olive oil)

-1/2 shot glass of white wine vinegar

-juice of 1/2 a lemon

-1 tsp sugar

-1 tsp salt

Method

-Cook the rice and couscous to package directions.

-Whilst the grains are cooking, chop your onion and garlic, then fry with some olive oil until super soft. Season. Add to a salad bowl.

-Chop the celery to small pieces, and grate your carrot. Add to the salad bowl with the cooked grains.

-To make your dressing, mix all the dressing ingredients together.

-Pour dressing over the salad and mix well. Done.

IMG_8305

2 Comments

Filed under Grains, How to be Healthy

2 responses to “I want it to be SUMMER salad!

  1. Tony White

    Lovely salad, Jess! A great success!

  2. Pingback: khasiat

Leave a Reply

