Jessica’s Fishy Concoction

 

I wasn’t sure if this was going to work. But I wanted to try it because I like fish, I like Puff pastry and I guess I like cream cheese….. The downfall here was the tomatoes soaking the bottom of the pastry, so maybe used a more condensed sauce such as tomato and basil pasta sauce.

Ingredients

-I was going to buy haddock, but then I saw Salmon was 2 fillets for £3 in Sainsburys. Score. You only need 1.

-Sainsburys cream cheese with herbs was both low fat AND 80p

– Jus-Roll Pre-rolled Puff Pastry was only a £1!!

-I was feeling a bit dizzy, so my mum said I should buy some spinach(£1) for its iron.

-And then I threw in some chopped tomatoes(33p).

Method

-It’s hard to have a proper method with something I’ve never made before. Firstly I heated about 3 tbsp of chopped tomatoes with some mixed herbs and sugar to make a tomatoey sauce. Ill show you what to do with the rest of the tomatoes in another recipe.

-I then took rid of the skin on ONE salmon fillet with difficulty(I froze the other one).

-Wilt the spinach but not until it’s complete mush. I.E put it in a saucepan and heat until the spinach just starts to darken and shrivel.

-I unrolled the puff pastry and rolled it a bit further to be economical by making it go further, but it doesn’t matter I guess.

-About 2 inches into the pastry, make a line of spinach which is the same length of the fillet.

-Place the tomato sauce on top-yes it does get watery but I kind of scooped the water to the side and onto the counter and quickly wiped it away so my flatmates didn’t see.

-Put the salmon on top, and then spread about a desert spoon of cream cheese on top of the fillet.

-Wrap up the pastry in whichever fashion pleases you, put on a greaseproof tray and put in the oven at 220c for about 40 mins. It needs some tweaking and affection, but this was literally one of the best meals I’ve had at Uni.

1 Comment

Filed under Bread, Pastries and Pizza, Fish, Other

One response to “Jessica’s Fishy Concoction

  1. Looks delish! Will’s mum made something quite similar recently but it was just salmon with chunks of ginger and raisons inside. It was delicious! xxx

Leave a Reply

