Jessi-Calzone

Like the name? If you don’t know what this is, it’s a pizza in a pasty like formation. Okay, I think it takes a dedicated student ‘foodie’ to put the effort into this, cos I actually made the dough base at about 5 o’clock, and then put it in the fridge to rise and then cooked it an hour and a bit later, ultra prep. And this was slightly thrifty, about £3(but I already had plain flour and olive oil) and a lot of the stuff needed lasts a long time anyway. It was lavly with anchovies and courgettes, but it’s your pizza obviously.

Ingredients (makes a one person base or calzone)

Dough-I used this from previous knowlege of pizzas, I’ve used Jamie Oliver before, but other books also. Just look online for other types of measurements and adapt it to however many people you’re cooking for.

-2 cups of plain flour

-1 cup of warm water

-1/2 a sachet of yeast

-2 dessert spoons of oil

Filling

-1/2 a carton Sainsburys chopped tomatoes with basil and oregano

-a can of anchovies

-a bit of a courgette

-mozzarella-chopped or grated-depending on how much you want

Method

-Place the flour in a bowl, and make a hole in the centre.

-Mix the warm water, oil and yeast together in a jug, and leave stand for a minute (if you can be bothered).

-Pour this mixture into the bowl, and fold the flour into the liquid. It gets messy (and my friend rang me at this time at which point my phone got destroyed with dough goo) but persevere, folding the mixture in on itself till all the ingredients have combined and you have a silky dough ball. Knead it in your hands to get some air in.

-Wrap the dough in cling film and put in the fridge for like half an hour minimum. My Italianesque friend was like “the fridge?! the fridge!?”, but if Jamie and Nigella say fridge, who am I to disagree? You need to let it sit cos it gets much bigger, and you need it to be big.

– After half an hour, it should have increased. Now flour a surface and roll out the base into a circle, this is a bother, it took 3 attempts for me but that’s cos I was chatting at the time and wasn’t concentrating.

-Now place this down on a greased baking tray. Once you’ve done this, spread the tomatoes on the base leaving a centimetre at the edge, followed by the mozzarella, and your toppings.

-Now fold this in half, and folding the bottom half rim over the top half. Like in the picture.

-Put in the oven at 180-200c for about 40 minutes and buon appetito. I like it with salad cream, but that’s cos I’m a salad cream addict, I don’t think Italians would like this.

2 Comments

Filed under Bread, Pastries and Pizza, Cheese, Italian, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Jessi-Calzone

  1. Chloe White

    ooo. can you make for me wednesday?x

Leave a Reply

