Black-Eyed Bean Hummus

Don’t even get me started on hummus/houmous. Give me bread and houmous and I would be so content. The other day we bought some posh spinach hummus and it was green, similarly we also bought a beetroot one which was pink. This got me thinking about how versatile it is, and after a bit of research I discovered you can make other types of hummus which don’t use chickpeas. So I ventured into my store cupboard and found black-eyed beans. I also have so much hummus in my fridge(Tesco’s own for those who like it chunky, or the kosher one who like it smooth), so I thought I should use something that wasn’t made from chickpeas.  I’d originally wanted cannellini beans so I could have an Italian themed dinner, but I used the last of them in my Store Cupboard Soup recipe. Black-Eyed Beans seem to have stemmed from a lot of places, according to Wikipedia, it seems they are widely grown in Asian countries, but is more commercially grown across the US, so this American style hummus.

Anyway, on Friday we had bought some tahini, so I decided to take the plunge and make my own dip.Water also proved to be important. I learnt the hard way, because I was like “WHY OH WHY ISN’T IT PUREEING!?! IT NEEDS TO BE MORE LIQUIDY BUT MORE OLIVE OIL WILL RUIN THE FLAVOUR”, and then, like a guardian angel, I saw a bottle of water and poured a bit in and hey presto it turned to a lovely consistency. All you really need to buy for this recipe is the pulse of your choice and tahini, all the other things should be available in your cupboard. I think you have to have a food processor for this job, but I bet a potato masher could work!

Ingredients

1 x 400g can of black-eyed beans, or any type of bean that takes your fancy!

-1/4 cup of Tahini

-1 tbsp lemon juice

-2 cloves of garlic minced (I added 3 and it was a bit too pungent)

-A handful of fresh basil finely chopped (I put mine in a food processor), or half a 1 tbsp of dried basil if that wont do

-2 tsp of salt

-4 tbsp oil

-2 tbsp water

Method

-Drain the beans in a sieve and rinse.

-Put all the ingredients except the oil in a food blender, and whizz. You will have to keep on turning it off and stirring it with a wooden spoon in order to move the mixture around.

-Once it has become a bit more maleable add the oil and whizz some more, turning it off to stir and whizzing some more.

– Add the water, but it really depends how much you would like. If you like your hummus like a cream, then you might want to add a bit more so everything is completely processed, but I like mine more chunky so I didn’t add as much.

-So there you have it, hummus is so easy, I can tell I’m gonna get too into this (in my head, all I hear is EDAMAME BEAN HUMMUS!!)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 Comments

Filed under Mediterranean, Pulses, Quick, Snacks and Starters, Vegan, Vegetarian

4 responses to “Black-Eyed Bean Hummus

  1. Tony White

    Great recipe this, Jess, had a bit and it tasted delish!

  2. Yum! I had never thought to use anything other than chickpeas! Thanks. Also: the photo with the jar looks great.

  3. girlinpearls

    No such thing as too much garlic! *breathes in your face*

  4. Simply want to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is just spectacular and i can assume you are an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

