Let’s Eat Kale Crisps


Mmm, Kale. No, I will be honest and say that I haven’t conciously eaten kale before this moment. I had the inkling it tastes like cabbage, or spinach-both of which I like- so I thought:- “Well I don’t need to try it then”. Oh how wrong I was, here I have made salt and vinegar kale crisps. I don’t eat crisps willingly, I’m not sure how much they cost, I’m guessing in the region of 50p. Well a 200g bag of kale costs 97p. I wanted to get a kale head, or bunch(?), but Tesco’s only sold in the bag. Kale (how many times can I say kale in this post?) is also a superfood…where can you go wrong with this vegetable?

Ingredients

-100g Kale

-1 tbsp oil

-1 1/2 tbsp white wine vinegar

-2 tsp salt crystals

-some pepper

Method

-Pre-heat your oven to gas mark 7, 220 c. and like a baking dish with grease proof paper.

-Cut your kale into bite-size pieces, or if it was in a bag, just leave it. Then throw them into a bowl with 1 tsp salt, the oil and the vinegar. Mix with a spoon, making sure all the leaves are covered.

-Lay the leaves on the baking sheet, try to make sure they are not layering you can.

-Place in the oven for 15-20mins. When they are mostly crispy but have a slight uncooked feeling to them, take them out. Leave to cool and they will turn crunchy like a packet of s + v crisps!

2 Comments

Filed under Snacks and Starters, Vegan, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Let’s Eat Kale Crisps

  1. Surprisingly tasty and not too dissimilar from s&v potato crisps.

  2. I have kale in the fridge and I’m making these. Looks fantastic (and easy)!

Leave a Reply

