Berry Banana Butter Sorbet(?)

This isn’t a sorbet. It’s a healthy smooth thing that will fix your ice cream cravings. It will stop you from setting out the door and buying £4 Ben and Jerry’s. All you need is 4 ingredients to make this bad boy. Or girl. I think this ‘sorbet’ looks more like a girl. I’ve gotten really into freezing old bananas and then processing them as a substitute for ice cream and making super smooth and ice-cold things like this. All you need to do is PEEL the bananas and break up into pieces and freeze in a bag or box. (DO NOT just shove an old banana in the freezer, it is impossible to peel if you do this).  I made this for my mum and I thought she was gonna eat the glass cos she loved it so much.

Ingredients

1 frozen banana

-1 cup of frozen berries

-1 dessert spoon of peanut butter

-1/2-1 tbsp milk

-1 tsp of yoghurt (optional)

Method

-With a food processor, process the frozen banana and berries until they look like crumbs and are just starting to come together.

-Add the peanut butter and continue to process. If it comes to a stand still you might,no you WILL need to start scraping (it’s inevitable) the sides of the food processor.

-Once it seems a bit stiff and doesn’t seem to be getting anywhere, add the milk and yoghurt if using. Blend until all is processed and looks like sorbet and scrape into a glass or bowl. Nom nom nom….

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

13 Comments

Filed under Healthy Sweets, Quick, Vegan, Vegetarian

13 responses to “Berry Banana Butter Sorbet(?)

  1. I am so going to try this! I keep frozen bananas on hand for recipes like this. Love the addition of the peanut butter 🙂 Swing by my blog if you have a sec. I am hosting a virtual Ice Cream Social and there have been some great recipes shared. Join in if you have the time!

  2. I love this idea. I almost never buy bananas any more, but I’m thinking I’ll get some and substitute almond butter for the peanut butter. Thanks for sharing this!

  3. Happier Than A Pig in Mud

    This sounds really good and like you say a much healthier alternative:@)

  4. thanks guys, this never fails you should def try and make it!

  5. Mmmmmm…looks so pretty, and I can’t wait to try it! I just ate all my strawberries, but I’ll buy some more next week (and some raspberries too) and make this as soon as possible! 🙂

  6. Very delicious! I want one right now!

  7. I have to admit that I’m not much of an ice cream fan, however… this one rocks! I know it’s not really ice cream, but frozen dessert anyway. Nicely done! Love the dessert spoon of PB!!

  8. Hi! Wonderful post! But the site is always loading incredibly slowly.

  9. Hello there, Can I copy that photograph and apply that on my personal blog?

  10. You got a very good website, Gladiola I noticed it through yahoo.

  11. Pingback: Dideli eksperimentai mažoje virtuvėje - Taip ilgai laukti, bet dar niekada neaprašyti, mano išbandyti receptai. » Uogų ir bananų šerbetas

Leave a Reply

