Have you tried cornbread?

I have made cornbread a lot, it’s a bit like cake but you tend to eat it as a savoury accompaniment. I must admit though, that the cornbread you see in this photograph tasted like soap, or deodrant, or something quite chemically. BUT THAT IS BY NO FAULT OF MY RECIPE. It’s just because I think there was something dodgy in one of my equipments I used, because this has never happened before. My sister had two slices though…which is a bit weird. Anyway, this is great with chilli, and for a great veggie chilli recipe, click here. I would say it’s thrifty because it uses a lot of store cupboard ingredients, and if you don’t have these in your store cupboard, then each ingredient literally costs nothing. If you buy a sack of flour, cornflour and caster sugar, it will total to about £1.50 and you will have them to hand for a while. Not like buying 500g of beef for £3 and only using it once.

Ingredients

-100g plain flour

-100g cornflour

-100g caster sugar

-2 eggs

-100g butter melted

-400ml milk

-2 tsp baking powder

-1 tsp salt

-If you have sweetcorn, throw about 3tbsp of that in too.

Method

-Preheat oven to gas mark 6/200 c, and grease some sort of tin, it could be a cake tin, or a loaf tin. Your choice. I used a spring form cake tin so I could cut the bread properly. The only problem with this is that it’s hard to store post baking.

-Mix all the ingredients together, be careful about milk. You might not need so much, so preferably add it in slowly until your mixture is runny but still has a slight thickness to it. The mixture should resemble yoghurt in its consistency.

-Pour into baking tin and bake for about 40 minutes, or until it is brown and top and when you prod a skewer down the centre it comes out clean.

– Take out of spring form tin, if you used on, and leave to cool. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Bread, Pastries and Pizza, Mexican, Store Cupboard, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Have you tried cornbread?

  1. Mike

    Found this post via my reader’s Foodgawker feed.
    Love corn bread, had some today with a deli takeout (takeaway there, I suppose?) of pot roast, green beans with bacon and mashed potatoes and gravy. My mom used to make great corn bread and I remember many times when I’d see her or my dad crumble some up in a glass of milk and eat it. They’ve both been gone for several years, but I do that now ‘n then just to have a connection to them.

    It’s really good with jalapeno peppers in it, too.

    Regards from Texas!

  2. Now I got a better idea what to do on our backyard corns. Can’t wait to prepare my own bread.

Leave a Reply

