Jammy oats

IMG_8324 copy

I’ve got back onto the baking train. But I don’t know if I ever got off. It’s more like, I fell asleep on the train, drooled for a bit, and woke up with a dead arm.

I wont lie to you and I wont be modest: I’m good at baking, I did a lot when I was 15 but I got a bit sick of eating baked stuff, and I probably will again this time round, but whilst I’m awake on the train, I may as well bake as much as possible.

Got a great raspberry recipe here if you like raspberries, or jam, or oats. Or jammie dodgers. These taste a lot like Jammie dodgers, so they have that real nostalgic feel.

I was inspired by this recipe, however, I didn’t have half of the healthy/vegan ingredients she had. So mine are a lot easier to make with regards to seeking out ingredients. And they probably taste a lot more indulgent (and thus nicer).

IMG_8328 copy

Ingredients-Yield-9 BIG Squares

-1.5 cups of oats

-1 cup of flour

-1/2 tsp bicarbonate or soda

-1/2 tsp salt

-1 egg

-1/2 cup of brown sugar

-1/2 cup of butter melted

-1/4 golden syrup

-2 tbsp milk

-1 cup of raspberry jam (or a jam of your choice, I used naturally sweetened St. Dalfour raspberry jam).

-2 tbsp sesame seeds/dessicated coconut, or a mixture of the two.

Method

-Preheat your oven to 180 c./gas mark 5 and line a 9 x 9 square baking tin with greaseproof paper. Failing that (cos I did) just line a regular-sized baking tray, but be prepared to use your hands to form a square.

-Mix together your dry ingredients (oats, flour, sugar, bicarb and salt) in a large bowl.

-In a smaller bowl, combine the wet ingredients but not the jam (egg, syrup, butter and milk).

-Mix together the wet and dry ingredients in the large bowl until sticky and well-combined.

-Now smooth your mixture into your square tin, if you’re without a square tin, form a square with your hands, making sure the mixture is about 1/2 inch high and homogenous.

-Spread the jam over the top of your square and sprinkle your sesame seeds/coconut.

-Bake for 30 minutes until firm and jam has relatively set.

IMG_8339 copy

Leave a comment

Filed under Baked goods, Store Cupboard

Leave a Reply

